Bear Hill Reviews

From Reviewer and Humourist

ALEX GANON

March 23, 2019

Little Darlings
Melanie Golding
Horror, Mystery & Thrillers

Crooked Lane Books

April 30, 2019

It’s funny being a parent.


When I talk about the humour of it, I’m not referring to the many ridiculous moments that children bombard you with through their lives. Moments that crack you up even now as you remember all the
innocent stupid things they did or said.

No, I’m talking about the not so funny funny part where once you have them something deep changes inside. I’m not sure what it like for you, but for me it was like the flip of a switch.
 

I had my first when I was teenager. I tell you, on that day, I may as well have been 20 years older. Everything made sense. I started working, I planned a career. Everything I did was through the lens of a dad. I would provide. I would keep him safe. I would make sure that at every child's birthday party he attended, the gift he brought would be worth triple whatever anyone else's “regular-aged" parents paid.

OK.... well not every part of...

February 21, 2019

Daisy's Run

Scott Baron

Science Fiction

Curiouser Publishing

November 15, 2018

Key Take Away: "This book actually did get me to orbit. Scott Baron in Houston managed to provide both X and Y. I don’t need to like the main character on a personal level, that doesn’t need to be a rule (but it should be a policy). Unfortunately, I burned up to a crisp on re-entry."

Review: 

Science fiction and fantasy are great. I totally empathize with any author wanting to take this genre on.

You need to write what you know; I think we've all learned that early on, probably from some hippy English teacher. It’s such a simple truth. So if you're an idiot like me, picking a genre where you can invent the rules is an easy choice to make.

Really, if you think about it, all we learn as science advances is how stupid we are.

That’s why science fiction appeals to me personally. I can imagine a world where starships are powered by laughing children and believe it, as long as there is an explanation. If you're curious, my...

January 7, 2019

"If you like the idea (as I do) of going through a realistic yet impossible story of travelling to another world then download this one."

October 29, 2018

I have also )finally) set up my Goodreads account a few weeks ago. It is fully updated. Follow me on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/86177761-alex-ganon. And check the page every now and again to see what I am reading and sure to review next!

October 29, 2018

Key Take Away..."Diane M. Johnson was dead-on with her narrative and ability to hold the theme, message, and spirit that I believe she intended."

October 2, 2018

Red Harvest

Patrick C. Greene

Kensington Books/Lyrical Underground

General Fiction (Adult), Horror

September 4, 2018

Careful, Alex...

ATTENTION reader. I am in a mood! Please take note of reason that follows.

A person needs to be careful when openly comparing themselves to those determined by the general public to be great.

In fact, don’t do it.

As stated, that’s for that general public to declare.

Same goes for storytelling. If the first page declares that what I am about to read will be comparable to works by King and Koontz, I have no choice but to measure by that. Literally zero choice!

You put those names in my head. After all, these are memories of teenage and early twenties reading. These are fond memories.

My girlfriend did not believe that 6 inches was 9, even though I said it as a statement, and nor should a reader take such bold statements as truth when starting a new book.

Save your opinion until the end and make your own comparisons. Maybe this opinion will be satisf...

September 1, 2018

Rattus New Yorkus

Hunter Shea

Kensington Books/Lyrical Underground

General Fiction (Adult), Horror

August 21, 2018

Key Take Away: "...it’s a fun read. A throwback to good old 70s or 80s horror where nothing is taken too seriously, and cliché, over the top imaginary is delightful. " 

Review:

Rattus New Yorkus. This is the scientific name for rats gonna eat your face! 

It also means a small book gets a small review.

A nice little story involving a freshly separated couple (the Jackson's) who happen to co-own a successful pest control service in New York.

By 'little story' I actually mean small, rodent size—a just over 100-page novella. By 'nice' I mean to say it’s a fun read. A throwback to good old 70s or 80s horror where nothing is taken too seriously, and cliché, over the top imaginary is delightful.  

As luck would have it, the couple, under a city contract, are obliged to test some new poison that is meant to create a sterile rat population. As all pest control operators with a contract...

September 1, 2018

Mr. Blue Sky

John Darke

Matador

Horror, Sci-fi/fantasy

April 27, 2018

Key Take Away: "Since I am ignorant, my conscience is quite at ease in my enjoyment of the twists and turns through the story’s ending revelations."

Review:

I don’t mind judging a book by its cover, whether literally or figuratively. In life, my conscience takes no burden in having a pleasant face to look at when in conversation, and like so, an interesting cover on the bookshelf has no ill effects. In both cases, if the inside is complete garbage, well....we all do the same thing with garbage. My shelf won’t mourn it.

So when I look in the horror category and see a scary eye with the words 'Mr. Blue Sky,'  I’m all over it.

Then five minutes in I ask myself, “Is this a Bigfoot story?” and the answer seems to be “Yes."

My heart is lifted and all I can do is give myself a sincere pat on the back—“Thank you, Alex, for judging a book by its cover.”

Well, it ends up being not a true Bigfoot story, not really at all. This i...

July 28, 2018

The Good Samaritan

John Marrs

Thomas & Mercer

General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers

April 12, 2018

Key Take Away: "As my hopes rise, they drop. Fast as if they were coerced with words to jump off a cliff."

Review:

The Good Samaritan plunges headfirst into a theme of depression and suicide. I need to admit straight off that I think the concept, in general, is a great one. We have an antagonist, Laura, who spends her day/evenings volunteering at a “help-line” service with the goal of pushing depressed callers off the edge as it were. So not really a good Samaritan at all .... Oh I see what the author did there.

So through Laura's perspective, we get oriented in her typical day. We are force fed how arrogant and smart she is and gulp down her pity about her weight and low self-image.

I thought to myself about a ¼ of the way through this book why I haven’t heard much on gender appropriation in modern literature (men writing women badly .... or the other way around). With so much cultur...

May 2, 2018

"I had no idea I needed an odd fantasy, seemingly written by Robert Heinlein himself, in my life until I was reading Peril in the Old Country"

Please reload

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

NEW BHP TITLES

Bear Hill Publishing
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2018 Bear Hill Publishing